

Inspector General of Policing Memorandum

| то: | All Chiefs of Police and Commissioner Thomas Carrique Chairs, Police Services Boards |
|----------|---|
| FROM: | Ryan Teschner, Inspector General of Policing of Ontario |
| DATE: | January 15, 2025 |
| SUBJECT: | Inspector General Memo #2: Changes to the <i>Community Safety and Policing Act, 2019</i> and Revised Advisory Bulletin 1.1 |

On December 4, 2024, the *Safer Streets, Stronger Communities Act, 2024,* received Royal Assent and enacted amendments to the *Community Safety and Policing Act, 2019* (CSPA). The amendments include changes to section 19 of the CSPA, which specifies how police services can provide assistance to each other through temporary assistance requests. In addition, section 19 was amended to remove the provisions regarding emergency assistance requests altogether.

In the first IG Memo released on August 1, 2024, I provided advice on interpreting and applying the former section 19 provisions, including outlining the roles and responsibilities of the police service board, the chief of police or Commissioner, and the IG. In response to the changes in the CSPA that assign directly to the chief of police the ability to seek assistance from another chief of police when temporary assistance is required, regardless of whether there is an emergency, I have revised Advisory Bulletin 1.1: How Policing is Delivered. This revised version of the Bulletin now replaces the version issued on August 1, 2024.

I advise chiefs of police, including the Commissioner, and police service boards, to review the attached Revised Advisory Bulletin and the changes to section 19, paying particular attention to their new respective authorities and duties, including the requirements to notify the IG. Please note that the revisions to the Bulletin are limited to addressing section 19 temporary assistance, and only these sections of the Bulletin require your review.

More broadly, given the role of the IG in relation to section 19 temporary assistance requests and the IG's oversight authority under section 20 of the CSPA, the **Inspectorate of Policing is working to develop additional process and information** for the policing sector on the IG's assessment of the delivery of adequate and

effective policing. This will include ongoing assessment of the "status quo" of adequate and effective police service delivery and governance, as well as specific considerations and process for time-sensitive assessments made in the context of emerging public safety events. Our work in this area includes engagement with the Ontario Association of Chiefs of Police and the Ontario Association of Police Services Boards, and we appreciate their continued support and value their input, on behalf of their membership.

As the Inspectorate of Policing gains further operational experience and insights, and through continued engagement with Ontario's policing sector, I will continue to share information and advice to assist you in meeting the requirements of the CSPA and its regulations.

I trust this information will be helpful to you. Should you have any questions about section 19 or the Revised Advisory Bulletin, please reach out to your Police Services Advisor.

IG Memos and Advisory Bulletins are also now posted on our website: <u>www.iopontario.ca</u>.

Sincerely,

Jerchne

Ryan Teschner Inspector General of Policing of Ontario



Zones are OAPSB and OACP consistent. Municipal board names are as recorded by the Public Appointments Secretariat, except for regional municipalities, which have been modified for consistency. Boards responsible for multiple municipalities (excluding upper-tier boards) are indicated as "joint". Police service names significantly different from the board are listed with the board. There are currently **43** municipal boards in Ontario.

ZONES 1/1A ZONE 6 ZONE 2 ZONE 3 ZONE 4 ZONE 5 Tom Gervais Graham Wight Multiple Advisors: **David Tilley** Hank Zehr Ron LeClair (416) 817-1347 ¹Tom Gervais. Primarv (226) 280-0166 (416) 432-5645 (647) 224-9370 (437) 777-9605 ²Hank Zehr, Primary tom.gervais@ontario.ca graham.wight@ontario.ca david.tilley@ontario.ca Hank.zehr@ontario.ca ronald.leclair@ontario.ca B/U Ron LeClair B/U Jeeti Sahota ³Graham Wight, Primary B/U Hank Zehr B/U David Tilley B/U Tom Gervais Greater Sudbury Belleville Brantford Guelph Avlmer Barrie¹ Bradford West Gwillimbury & Halton Regional Chatham-Kent North Bay Brockville Hanover Innisfil (joint) - South Simcoe² LaSalle Sault Ste. Marie Cornwall Cobourg³ Hamilton Owen Sound Durham Regional² Niagara Regional London Thunder Bay Deep River Saugeen Shores Timmins Gananoque Kawartha Lakes ³ Woodstock Stratford Sarnia Peel Regional² St. Thomas Kingston Waterloo Regional Peterborough² West Grev Strathroy-Caradoc Ottawa Smiths Falls Port Hope³ Windsor¹ Toronto¹ York Regional³ ¹ David Tilley Primary 5 5 8 10 7 8 Total 43

Municipal Boards & Police Services – CSPA Part IV

OPP Detachment Boards - CSPA s.67

| ZONES 1/1A | ZONE 2 | ZONE 3 | ZONE 4 | ZONE 5 | ZONE 6 |
|--------------------|-----------------------|-------------------------------------|--------------|--------------|----------------|
| Almaguin Highlands | Central Hastings | Bancroft ³ | Brant County | Dufferin 1 | Elgin |
| Dryden 1 | Frontenac | Collingwood 1 ² | Haldimand | Dufferin 2 | Essex County 1 |
| Dryden 2 | Grenville 1 | Collingwood 2 ² | Norfolk | Dufferin 3 | Essex County 2 |
| Dryden 3 | Grenville 2 | Bracebridge ³ | Oxford 1 | Dufferin 4 | Lambton 1 |
| East Algoma 1 | Hawkesbury | City of Kawartha Lakes ³ | Oxford 2 | Grey Bruce | Lambton 2 |
| East Algoma 2 | Killaloe | Haliburton County ³ | Oxford 3 | Huron | Middlesex |
| East Algoma 3 | Lanark County | Huntsville ³ | | Huronia West | |
| Greenstone | Leeds County | Northumberland ³ | | Perth County | |
| James Bay 1 | Lennox & Addington 1 | Nottawasaga ² | | South Bruce | |
| James Bay 2 | Lennox & Addington 2 | Orillia ² | | Wellington | |
| James Bay 3 | Prince Edward County | Peterborough ³ | | Ě Š | |
| Kenora 1 | Quinte West | South Georgian Bay ² | | | |
| Kenora 2 | Renfrew | | | | |
| Kirkland Lake | Russel County | | | | |
| Manitoulin 1 | Stormont, Dundas and | | | | |
| | Glengarry | | | | |
| Manitoulin 2 | Upper Ottawa Valley 1 | | | | |
| Marathon | Upper Ottawa Valley 2 | | | | |
| Nipigon 1 | Upper Ottawa Valley 3 | | | | |
| Nipigon 2 | | | | | |
| Nipissing West 1 | | | | | |
| Nipissing West 2 | | | | | |
| North Bay 1 | | | | | |
| North Bay 2 | | | | | |
| North Bay 3 | | | | | |
| Rainy River 1 | | | | | |
| Rainy River 2 | | | | | |
| Red Lake | | | | | |
| Sault Ste. Marie | | | | | |
| Sioux Lookout | | | | | |
| South Porcupine | | | | | |
| Superior East | | | | | |
| Temiskaming 1 | | | | | |
| Temiskaming 2 | | | | | |
| Temiskaming 3 | | | | | |
| Thunder Bay | | | | | |
| West Parry Sound | | | | | |
| 36 | 6 18 | 12 | 6 | 10 | 6 |
| | | | | | Total 88 |